APAI 61st Annual Convention Draws Record Crowd

The Asphalt Paving Association of Iowa (APAI) held its 61st Annual Convention on December 1-3 at the West Des Moines Marriott to record crowds. Over 350 attendees met to hear the messages on the theme of “Ever Forward”, and were not disappointed by the amazing line-up of speakers. From the opening address by Dr. Jay Lehr, world-renowned economist, through the leaders of the Iowa DOT, industry experts, and culminating in the Keynote Speaker, Jack Ulrich, the attendees were challenged in their perceptions of what the future of transportation might look like.

The APAI Quality Paving Awards luncheon celebrated another outstanding year by Iowa’s asphalt contractors. The generosity of the APAI members in funding over $32,000 in scholarships was on display as the APAI Scholarship winners were recognized for their high levels of academic achievement. The very best paving projects in Iowa, and the people who let and paved them, were honored by the Iowa DOT and Local Agency Leaders. The Iowa Asphalt Hall of Fame enshrined another great leader with the induction of Dr. Joe McGuire. Dr. McGuire had given freely of his time and effort for over thirty years as Chairman of the APAI Environmental Committee and APAI Scholarship Committee.

The 61st Convention culminated in the Presidential Banquet where current APAI President, Steve Leonard of Norris Asphalt passed the gavel to incoming President Brad Henningsen of Henningsen Construction. Mr. Henningsen helped lead the bidding in the APAI Scholarship Auction that raised over $27,000 for the APAI Scholarship Fund in the fun-filled event.

The APAI would like to sincerely thank the volunteers and sponsors that made the 61st Annual Convention the best convention yet.

APAI 61st Annual Convention Sponsors
Presidential Banquet Sponsor

Smoothness Awards Luncheon Sponsor
Flint Hills Resources
Halletts Materials
   An Oldcastle Materials Group company

"Cruisin' Down the Highway" Sponsor
Astec, Inc.
Bituminous Materials & Supply Co., L.P.

Reception / Silent Auction Sponsor
Altorfer, Inc. & Ziegler, Inc.
   "The Iowa CAT Dealers"
CWMF, Corp.
Flagger Pros USA

Motivational Speaker Sponsor
Jim Hawk Truck Trailers, Inc.
Valley Environmental Services

General Sessions Sponsors
Elite Flagging, Inc.
Jebro, Inc.
Logan Contractors Supply
Martin Marietta
Murphy Tractor & Equipment Co., Inc.

Membership Day Sponsors
Antigo Construction, Inc.
Bitco Insurance Companies
BMC Aggregates
Coleman-Moore Company
Concrete Materials
Construction Materials Testing
Cylosoft, Inc.
J.D. Donovan, Inc.
L.G. Everist, Inc.
Holmes Murphy & Associates
Midwest Tennis & Track
Missouri Petroleum Products
Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers
Scott Van Keppel / BOMAG
Star Equipment, Ltd.
Unique Paving Materials Co.
Whitfield & Eddy Law

 To view photos of this convention click here.


Please Wait... processing